Nuclear Batteries

Get your science fix here: research, quackery, activism and all the rest
JQH
After Pie

Nuclear Batteries

Post by JQH » Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:52 am

Found on the Scrutineers FaceBook page: a self charging battery that draws its power from nuclear waste:

https://newatlas.com/energy/nano-diamon ... VG0tZdInGM

I has me doubts but I'm not an electronic engineer so I don't know what's possible and what isn't.

I suspect the nuclear waste bit (RADIATION!!!) will make it a hard sell even if it works.

And why the f.ck do techno-nerds feel the need to boast of "disrupting" industries? When did this become a thing?
And remember that if you botch the exit, the carnival of reaction may be coming to a town near you.

Fintan O'Toole

Grumble
Light of Blast

Re: Nuclear Batteries

Post by Grumble » Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:15 am

JQH wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:52 am
Found on the Scrutineers FaceBook page: a self charging battery that draws its power from nuclear waste:

https://newatlas.com/energy/nano-diamon ... VG0tZdInGM

I has me doubts but I'm not an electronic engineer so I don't know what's possible and what isn't.

I suspect the nuclear waste bit (RADIATION!!!) will make it a hard sell even if it works.

And why the f.ck do techno-nerds feel the need to boast of "disrupting" industries? When did this become a thing?
I’m sure there was a story on these lines last year, or maybe earlier this year, from the University of Bristol.
where once I used to scintillate
now I sin till ten past three

shpalman
Princess POW

Post by shpalman » Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:52 am

having that swing is a necessary but not sufficient condition for it meaning a thing
@shpalman@mastodon.me.uk

shpalman
Princess POW

Post by shpalman » Thu Aug 27, 2020 11:36 am